Saturday, 7 December 2019

Arsenal’s Minor Period 42 Years Ago was Repeated when Losing Against Brighton

By db-admin –  The defeat against Brighton & Hove Albion did not make Arsenal get out of their bad times. Arsenal’s fortune has not changed after Unai Emery was fired and Freddie Ljungberg was appointed as interim manager.

Playing week 15 of the Premier League against Brighton at the Emirates Stadium, Friday (12/06), Arsenal were surprisingly defeated 1-2 through two goals by Adam Webster (36 ‘) and Neal Maupay (80’), scaled back by Alexandre Lacazette.

Worse yet Arsenal lost control of the ball, 49 percent, compared to 51 percent of Brighton. Arsenal released 12 kicks and five of them were on target, while Graham Potter’s fired 20 kicks – nine of them on target.

Ljungberg, Arsenal legend, ran out of words describing the performance of his players. He did not see an appearance like Arsenal.

“In the first half we said ‘This is not Arsenal, we have to give up soon’. The game was challenging. We were bad in the first round, did not work hard and wanted to play. You cannot start a game like that,” complained Ljungberg, as quoted by the Guardian

“We have to win immediately to gain confidence. It’s clear that the tension between supporters affects the players. They are only human, they want to look good and feel pressure. But we have to win and we have shown in the second half we were able to score one goal.”

Arsenal are now defeated in nine consecutive matches in all competitions, going through a minor period that occurred 42 years ago. Their position is in 10th place of the Premier League standings with 19 points.

Arsenal’s position is closer to the relegation zone, five points from Everton, compared to Chelsea who is in the top four of the Premier League (Champions League zone) by 10 points.

Arsenal: Bernd Leno; Hector Bellerin, Sokratis, David Luiz, Sead Kolasinac; Granite Xhaka, Lucas Torreira; Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (c), Joe Willock, Mesut Ozil; Alexandre Lacazette.

Brighton: Mat Ryan; Steven Alzate, Adam Webster, Lewis Dunk (c), and Burn; Davy Propper, Dale Stephens, Aaron Mooy; Pascal Gross, Aaron Connolly; Neal Maupay.


How your reaction for this article?