Wednesday, 1 December 2021

Messi Wins Ballon D’Or 2021

By db-admin – The Ballon d’Or 2021 award ceremony will be held at the Theater du Chatelet, Paris, France, Tuesday (30/11). The event, which often consecrates the world’s best players, was postponed in 2020 due to the corona virus pandemic.

Several categories were announced in France from the Women’s Ballon d’Or, the Kopa Trophy, the Lev Yashin Award, as well as the two new awards presented this year: Best Top Scorer and Best Team.

For the women’s Ballon d’Or category, the winner is Barcelona star Alexia Putellas. The 27-year-old has played for Barcelona since 2012 after leaving Levante and has made over 350 appearances across all competitions.

The 2020-2021 season was the best in Putellas’ career because he delivered the treble winners. Putellas beat other candidates namely Sam Kerr (Chelsea) and his Barcelona team-mate, Jennifer Hermoso.

Then the position of Lev Yashin aka the best goalkeeper was given to the new PSG goalkeeper, Gianluigi Donnarumma. The 22-year-old goalkeeper helped Milan qualify for the Champions League and win Euro 2020 with the Italian national team.

Next is the Kopa Trophy for the best young player under the age of 21. The winner of the award was Barcelona midfielder Pedri, who spent 2021 consistently playing at club and country level.

Pedri (19 years) beat other competitors such as Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Gio Reyna (Borussia Dortmund), Mason Greenwood (Manchester United), Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich), and Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen).

Then for two new categories, namely Best Team and Top Scorer, it went to Bayern Munich striker, Robert Lewandowski. The Polish striker in 2021 scored 51 goals in 40 games in all competitions for Bayern.

Chelsea won the Best Team award for their success in winning the Champions League after changing coaches in the middle of the season. Plus they added it to the achievement of the European Super Cup title. This season the Blues are also candidates for the Premier League title.

Ballon d’Or 2021

In this most anticipated category, Cristiano Ronaldo, who has won five Ballon d’Ors, is not in the top five and this is the first time this has happened since 2010. The Portuguese superstar can only rank sixth in the Ballon d’Or nomination list.

Beneath Ronaldo are Mohamed Salah (seventh), Kevin De Bruyne (eighth), Kylian Mbappe (ninth) and Gianluigi Donnarumma (10th). What about the top five?

N’Golo Kante (Chelsea) is in fifth place, followed by Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Jorginho (Chelsea), and Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich) in second … The winner is Lionel Messi.

La Pulga (34 years) has already set a record and high standards with his seventh Ballon d’Or. With these results, it is increasingly difficult for his rival, Ronaldo to catch up with the Ballon d’Or Messi. Moreover, Ronaldo is 37 years old.

Full List of Award Winners at the 2021 Ballon d’Or Event:

Women’s Ballon d’Or: Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)

Lev Yashin Award: Gianluigi Donnaruma (PSG)

Kopa Trophy: Pedri (Barcelona)

Best Top Scorer: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

Best Team: Chelsea

Men’s Ballon d’Or: Lionel Messi (PSG)

How your reaction for this article?